Recent problems with restoring IAPs and how to solve

Hi all

It's been - a while. I can't believe I've been doing a 'proper' full-time job for two years now! I check in occasionally to make sure nothing's gone wrong but I no longer have the time to actively work on NS2, something I'm sure you don't need to be Sherlock to deduce.

Recently I've had a few messages about IAP failing to restore, which sounds frustrating. I've tried to replicate the problem but haven't had any success. All IAP (including the content) is hosted on Apple's servers, so although I can rule out problems with self-hosted content, it does make the problem more difficult to diagnose. It's similar to a problem which occurred some time ago: https://www.blipinteractive.co.uk/community/discussion/comment/12151

A Ray of Hope

It turns out that an enterprising member on the AB forums has found a solution (thank you ahallam). There's a slight 'but' coming ... you will need to:

1. Back up all your files (there are multiple choices here - continue reading below)
  2. Delete NS2 (ie. the app) and re-download it from the App Store (alternatively, you could try 'Offloading' the app)
  3. Restore NS2's files/documents
  4. 'Purchase' (download for free) each IAP ONE-BY-ONE!!! Don't use 'Restore Purchases' or you'll most likely be back where you started (sad face)

The rest of this message is about back-up options. Feel free to tell me if any of this has helped or hindered. If I can find the most streamlined process then I'll message users who've contacted with the least painful fix.

Matt

Backup Options

It's obviously important that you keep all your documents/data (by this I mean projects, patches, samples etc.)

WebDAV

If you're uber-Leet and you want total control over your files, you can use NS2's built in WebDAV server to transfer everything over to your desktop computer and copy it back afterwards: https://www.blipinteractive.co.uk/nanostudio2/user-manual/Settings.html#webdav

Using iCloud Backup